top of page

Thu, Feb 01

|

Franciscan Renewal Center

The Gospel of Peace: An Evening with John Dear on His New Commentary on the Gospels

Registration is closed
See other events
The Gospel of Peace: An Evening with John Dear on His New Commentary on the Gospels
The Gospel of Peace: An Evening with John Dear on His New Commentary on the Gospels

Time & Location

Feb 01, 2024, 7:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Franciscan Renewal Center, 5802 E Lincoln Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85253, USA

About the event

Priest, peacemaker, author, and Nobel Peace Prize Nominee, Father John Dear, will be with us for an evening to talk about and sign copies of his new book, his life’s work, “The Gospel of Peace: A Commentary on Matthew, Mark and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence” (Orbis). It is the first ever commentary on the Synoptic Gospels from the perspective of active nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi and Dr. King.

In this original work, Fr. John walks us through every line of the three Synoptic Gospels pointing out Jesus’ practice and teachings on nonviolence, peace, and universal love each step of the way and invites us to become practitioners of Gospel nonviolence like Jesus. John Dear’s Jesus is like Gandhi and Dr. King—nonviolent to the core, a disarming, healing presence toward those in need and a revolutionary disrupter of the unjust status quo and a political threat to the ruling authorities who succeed in killing him, only to push Jesus to the heights of nonviolence through his death and resurrection. This original commentary brings a fresh new approach to the Gospels that will help us all carry Jesus’ global campaign of nonviolence for justice, disarmament, and creation.

“Fr. John Dear’s The Gospel of Peace is an invitation to go beyond a conceptual consideration of peace to the living of peace, especially as a condition and an attribute of discipleship to Jesus.”

— Cardinal Peter Turkson, Vatican City

“John Dear is one of the few towering figures in the Christian nonviolent freedom and peace movement in our time! This powerful book should not be missed!” — Cornel West

“No living person has done more to root Jesus’ message of nonviolence and peace in scripture than John Dear. Follow John’s lead through Matthew, Mark and Luke and, like those disciples on the Emmaus Way, your heart will be set afire with excitement to tell others the Good News!” — Wes Howard-Brook

Fee: $20. Pre-registration is required.

https://frc.retreatportal.com/events/f?p=101:2:4733409473782::::PROGRAM_ID:67797

Father John Dear has been working for justice and disarmament and teaching peace and nonviolence for over four decades. The author of forty books, he has served as the director of the Fellowship of Reconciliation, the largest interfaith peace group in the nation; was the coordinator of chaplains for the Red Cross after 9/11 in New York; and as pastor to rural parishes in the high desert of New Mexico.

He has traveled in warzones around the world and spoken to audiences around the world about the Gospel message of peace and nonviolence. He is the executive director of www. beatitudescenter.org where he hosts and offers Zooms on Jesus and Gospel peacemaking.

He was nominated many times for the Nobel Peace Prize, including by Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

www.johndear.org

The Gospel of Peace books will be available for purchase at the event and at Books & Blessings bookstore.  You may also  Pre-order your book(s):  $34 per book, sold by Phoenix Peace Builders, Culture of Peace Alliance. 

https://www.paypal.com/donate/?hosted_button_id=U74ZN9VM7U7UQ

You may pick up your book at the FRC Hospitality section after every weekend Mass in January, or on the night of the event.  For Questions about book purchases, or to make special arrangements to pick up your book, please call/text/email Mark A. Klym, Casa Peace Committee, Phoenix Peace Builders, Culture of Peace Alliance at (602) 799-4572 markaklym@phoenixpeacebuilders.org www.phoenixpeacebuilders.org

Share this event

bottom of page